Oban Saints AFC – In Focus



Founded – 1960

Nickname – Saints

Manager – Alex Craic

League – Scottish Amateur Football League

Current League Position –2nd

Recent Form – WDLWLWW

Club Honours –

Scottish Amateur Football League

Jimmy Marshall Trophy 2015 – 16, 2013,14
Premier Division 2013 – 14, 2009 – 10
Premier Division One 2001 – 02, 1997 – 98, 1990 – 91
Premier Division Two 1993 – 94, 1989 – 90
Top Score Trophy 1987 – 88
Division Six 1978 – 79

Home Park – Saints play their home games at either Mossfield Stadium or Glencruitten Park (both in Oban) which are two well maintained grass parks with excellent playing surfaces. They are associate members of Oban Lorne Rugby Club and share the superb facilities at the Glencruitten club house, which is fully licensed.

How They Began – The club was formed in 1960 by a group of young players who couldn’t get a regular game for any of the teams playing in the Oban and District Football League at that time. Saints joined the Oban League in 1960 and had fifteen very successful years in this league, winning the championship no fewer than 8 times, the MacGillivray Cup 5 times, the Faccenda Cup 5 times and the Ainsworth Cup 4 times.

thumbnail_Oban & District League Champions 1971 - 72.jpg
Oban & District League Champions 1970-71


Recent History – With the Oban and District League in a major decline, and because of their growing reputation (reaching the last 16 of the Scottish Amateur Cup in 1975), they applied, and were successful in joining the Scottish Amateur Football League in 1976. They started off in Division Seven and progressed through the leagues winning Division Six in 1979; Division Two in 1990 and Division One in 1991. They were the first ever winners of the Top Score Trophy in 1988.

thumbnail_SAFL Division 6 Champions 1978 - 79.jpg
SAFL Division 6 Winners 1978-79
thumbnail_SAFL Top Score Trophy Winners 1987 - 88.jpg
SAFL Top Scorer Trophy Winners 1987-88


SAFL Division 1 Champions 1991-92

Saints were invited to join the SAFL Premier Section in 1994 and hold the distinction of being the first winners of the new Premier Division Two League Championship Trophy in their first season. They won the Premier Divison One league title in 1998 and again in 2002, beating Shamrock 3-2 in a play-off after the teams had finished level on points. The club won the SAFL Premier Division title for the first time in 2010 and again in 2013/14 as well as winning the Jimmy Marshall Trophy defeating Inverclyde 2-0 in the final. Saints won the Jimmy Marshall Cup again in 2015/16 beating St Joseph’s FP 2-1 in a thrilling final at Millburn Park, Alexandria.

thumbnail_SAFL Premier Division 2 Champions 1993 - 94.jpg
SAFL Premier Division 2 Champions 1993-94


thumbnail_SAFL Premier Division  Champions 2009 - 10.jpg
SAFL Premier Division Winner 2009-10

Saints had a great run in the Scottish Amateur Cup in the 2006/2007 season reaching the last eight of the competition. They defeated many of Scotland’s top teams like Newmilns Vesuvius, Galtson, Colville Park and Knockentiber on the way to the final stages of the national competition. They finally lost 3-0 away to Cupar Hearts in the quarter final. They also reached the last eight in 2009/2010 losing out to Eddlewood in the quarter finals and in 2013/14 again lost in the last eight to Eastfield. The Oban side reached the semi-finals of the national competition in 2015/16 eventually losing out to Leven United in extra time at New Douglas Park, Hamilton.

thumbnail_SAFL Jimmy Marshall Trophy Winners 2015 - 16.jpg
Jimmy Marshall Winners & Scottish Cup Semi Finalists 2015-16



Finest Hour – The club have two occasions which could be argued as being there finest hour. Remaining undefeated to clinch the 2013 – 14 League and Cup double and also reaching the semi finals of the Scottish Amateur Cup in season 2015-16. Both massive achievements.

thumbnail_SAFL Jimmy Marshall Trophy Winners 2013 - 14.jpg
Jimmy Marshall Winners 2013-14
thumbnail_SAFL Premier Division  Champions 2013 - 14.jpg
Premier Division Champions 2013-14 – Doing The Double

Players To Watch – Current Scottish Amateur International Scott Maitland.

Scott Maitland

Youngsters coming through Matthew Kelly, Fraser MacFarlane, Jay Cooper.

Sponsors – D&K Lafferty Contractors, Aulay’s Bar and Roddy’s Garage

Website – http://www.sportfocus.com/webpro/obansaints

Social Media Accounts –

Facebook Oban Saints AFC 


Instagram oban_saints_afc

Tumblr obansaintsafc1960

Blog – Winning In The Rain – http://obansaintsafc.blogspot.com/

All Time Top  Scorer – George McLuckie & Allan Mackay

Favourite Away Day – Every game after a win

Rivals – Campbeltown Pupils. We may be 90 miles apart but it’s still THE big Argyll Derby. This fixture took place on Saturday with Saints running out 4-0 winners in the away tie. The bus journey home must have been a good one that day!

Number 1 Fan – Iain Neilson

thumbnail_Iain Neilson with 2009 - 10 League Trophy.jpg
Iain Nelson with the 2009-10 league trophy



One thought on “Oban Saints AFC – In Focus

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s